Entertainment Review: Why I loved the Movie Sisters 

First of all, I love Parks and Recreation and 30 Rock. So seeing Amy Poehler and Tina Fey together again in a movie made me so excited. However, I didn’t set my expectations too high because a lot of comedy films seem to be a bit of a hit and miss (you get some that are totally hilarious, while some are just torture). 

  
Sisters focuses obviously on siblings Kate (Fey) and Mara Ellis (Poehler) who return to their childhood home to pack up their bedrooms and so the house can be sold. Yeah right. The Ellis sisters are a handful and they are not ready to let go of all the great memories made in the house. As a result, Kate convinces her sister that they should throw one last party for old times sake and so Mara can have her own wild night there.

Just imagine middle aged people literally letting go for a night. This meant excessive drinking, dancing, flirting, drugs and sex but with people who are parents. The best part of film was it didn’t hold back on the crazy. There were so many times when I laughed out loud because I couldn’t believe a character said this or did that. 

  
Sisters was overall acted well. The storyline was not very original but it worked. There were some really funny lines through out the film. Like Kate’s quick and blunt comebacks to her enemy, Brinda (Maya Rudolph). I mean Brinda’s belt really did look like a wrestling belt. 

Also I wouldn’t call Sisters a chick flick it’s more of a general comedy which can be enjoyed by anyone over the age of 15. As long as you enjoy that silly and awkward style of humour then it’s right up your alley. You must also be okay with seeing a drunk man dip his penis into paint and attempt to decorate a wall, among other disastrous events. 

I loved Sisters and have already seen it twice because why not? I’m all about the inappropriate jokes and sisterly love. It was the highlight of my day. 

The film also stars James Brolin Diane Wiest, John Cena, Ile Barinholtz And John Leguozamo. 

Let me know what you thought of the film. 

Leave a Reply

