It’s Funny How Your Views Change

If you had told me two years ago that I would be in a serious relationship, not pursuing my original career path or that I would warm up to the idea of having pet birds, I would have laugh hard in your face. However, here we are.

At 23, my view on certain things has drastically changed. I remember playing with my barbies at a kid and I would be an woman who had a great career. Plus, I had the husband and family. Women used to be respected for staying home and looking after their children. Now there are higher expectations to do both. I used to judge my cousin because her dream was to have children and be a stay at home mum. Now it doesn’t sound that bad and I respect anyone who does.

I had a vision in my head of how my life would be and it’s not even close. People always say ‘you can’t plan life’ but I ignored that notion as I love to plan things ( I mean just looking at my pinterest boards you can see I enjoy planning parties and preparing for future holidays). I even wrote a bucket-list and I can say I have ticked off a few aspirations. In other news, I did a work trial last week for an industry completely different to my degree and loved it. I really enjoyed my morning and I didn’t feel anxious being in a different role or place. I haven’t heard back yet but fingers crossed I get an interview. I realise after my tantrums of how my life isn’t going the way I wanted it to go, is maybe I was never meant to have some fancy desk job but instead, I would be in a role helping people.

Another thing that has changed is my view on Christmas. I have a complicated family life. Despite being a big and caring bunch, they can’t help but fight constantly. Whenever it came around to Christmas time,Β  I didn’t look forward to it the olderΒ  I got because I knew it meant split gatherings. As a neutral person, I was forced to attend most of the events and I would try to share my time equally. Last year was so much better as I was in love and I’m so excited this year that I have already put up the decorations.

Note: I have a huge fear of birds when my current partner told me he had pet birds, I made a face and thought ‘I should probably bail now’. Obviously I didn’t and they have grown on me. So much so that we adopted my grandma’s cockateil when she passed away in May.

I’m not complaining, I’m just fascinated how your circumstances can shape your ideas and people can change your views. Maybe I’m becoming wiser. It was just something I noticed.

Has anything changed your view on something lately?

Leave a Reply

